PDA

View Full Version : First Time Laser Purchase - Epilog Mini 18 - 40W or Trotec RayJet 50

reid greene
02-09-2017, 2:11 AM
Hello everyone. I have been lurking on this forum for the last few weeks trying to learn all I can in preparation for my first laser purchase. This is an awesome forum! I have learned so much from reading all the threads pertaining to the units that I am considering.

I little bit about me. I am an IT professional by day and a hobby Woodworker in the evenings. I have an online store where I sell some of my wood crafts. I would like to enhance my crafts by personalizing them and adding new laser engraved products to the store. So I plan to work with wood (very little cutting), leather, glassware, coated metals and stainless steel (Cermark). This will remain a hobby for the foreseeable future.

I have narrowed my choices to the Epilog Mini-18 40 watt and the Trotec RayJet 50 watt. I have received quotes from both vendors and they are close in price. Beside the unit itself, I plan on getting the rotary and the cutting table.

I have read both user manuals and have watched many, many videos. I have seen the Epilog in action and I am trying to get a demo of the RayJet to see firsthand how it performs. After which, I will be ready to pull the trigger on this baby! Getting really excited about expanding my hobby.

Question: Is buying a laser similar to buying a car where the price can be negotiated or is the quote THE price? I understand that these lasers are on the low end of their product lines so there may not be much room to negotiate but any movement in my favor would be welcomed.

From my research, here is what I believe to be the pros (+) and cons (-) for each unit.

Epilog Mini-18
(-) Small air compressor needed for air assist
(+) More versatile job management software
(+) Easy re-positioning of origin (home)
(+) Ethernet port for wireless communication from my desktop PC in my man cave
(+) Servo motor

Trotec RayJet 50