PDA

View Full Version : First table saw: new or used - questions about safety

Alex Mielko
02-02-2017, 2:04 PM
I am pretty new to woodworking. So far, I have built a workbench and couple of reach-in closet built-ins. Both which turned out pretty nice for a first time project. My next project is a big walk-in closet for which I think a table saw would be beneficial. With a limited budget I am looking for an used TS on Craigslist. There, I can get old Craftsman or Ridgid for about $125-150. I am fine with restoration, surface rust removal, painting, etc as long as it doesn't double the saw's price. All would be good except that I am worrying about lack of safety features in older table saws. There is usually no riving knife, blade guard, etc. I am not sure how often kickback occurs but wearing football helmet and bulletproof vest for every cut is not really an option. :) Another option would be new Dewalt DWE7480 from Home Depot which I believe comes with all the safety features missing on older saws. At $379, I would definitely be stretching my budget but hey, safety is worth it.

So given all that, what would you do if you were in my place? I understand that more solid older table saw is better than the portable Dewalt, but then there are the safety features that older saws are missing. Besides the built-in closet and maybe patio table and bench, I do not see more uses for the table saw so spending hundreds of dollars doesn't make much sense. I am just tired of using my DIY track jig for circular saw. It looks like I am wasting too much time measuring, clamping and cutting.

David Kumm
02-02-2017, 2:20 PM