PDA

View Full Version : Veritas plane alignment screw question

Gary Focht
01-26-2017, 1:55 AM
I'm new to the hand tool world and bought a Veritas LA jack as my first plane. It is my understanding that the set screws should make it easy to realign the blade after removing it for sharpening, but I have to go through the alignment process every time, almost as if starting from scratch. Is there some trick to it I'm missing?

Also, how tight should the thumb screw on the lever cap be during alignment and during use?

Thanks,
Gary

Derek Cohen
01-26-2017, 3:08 AM
Hi Gary

The set screws should be very slightly loose ... just enough space to slip in the blade.

The thumb screw is also a balance between firmness to keep the lever cap in place and to allow the adjuster to move without force.

Regards from Perth

Derek

William Fretwell
01-26-2017, 1:50 PM
I believe the plane comes with a warning about over tightening the lever cap. From snug to tight is just over 1/4 of a turn.
The blade needs re-aligning with the sole each time after sharpening, the set screws merely guide the blade edge into a limited range of movement to simplify the alignment process.
So yes it is important you do go through the alignment process each time. Slightly under tightening the lever cap helps.

As this is your first plane I will describe it:
Hold the plane upside down with light above and behind you.
Look along the plane from the front end at a shallow angle.
The merest sliver of an edge should be showing below the sole.
Move the Norris adjuster carefully to exactly align the blade and sole.
Give the lever cap screw a little tweak to finish.
Check the alignment again.

This is quick, astonishingly accurate and absolutely required.

glenn bradley
01-26-2017, 2:21 PM