PDA

View Full Version : corel x7 to lasercut 5.3

jud dinsmore
01-23-2017, 11:18 AM
i'm just getting started with this, but have run into a little snag.

i'm engraving on a variety of wood samples. i've designed a template in corel that lets me stack by bed side-by-side with 28 samples (5" square samples). the engraving is the same on each sample.

in corel, i make a 5" square box, added my text in the proper spots, and grouped all of this together. i copied and arranged them to fill up the overall space (set to match my laser bed). i then ungrouped everything and deleted the 5" square boxes. this leaves the text only, which is all i want the laser to engrave, arranged to engrave in the center of 28 different pieces.

i'm running to issues when i just want to engrave one, 5" square area like above. i'm only exporting a single box, but without the actual 5" box, so just the text. when i open it up in laser cut, it has been resized. this makes it significantly more difficult to line up, since i was just dragging it to the upper right hand corner and cutting.

anyway to get corel/lasercut to not resize my image? i could keep the box line, but then i would need to figure out how to not have the laser engrave that line.

Kev Williams
01-23-2017, 11:58 AM
I'm assuming your text is black. I also assume your boxes are just outlines, if you haven't already, color them red. Then export everything. Once it's in lasercut, just turn off the red color, and the lines will disappear.

if you want to engrave just one box's test, just group that text and change it to blue (or anything but black or red). Now turn off the black, and only the blue remains. Enter your engraving settings, send to the machine :)

jud dinsmore
01-23-2017, 4:10 PM
kev,