PDA

View Full Version : Pattern bit for shaper

Jeff Finazzo
01-23-2017, 10:02 AM
Hello all
I am new to shaper use. Actually very new. I have a machine on order, so very little experience. I do a lot of pattern routing and I'm curious what is the best tooling for doing this on a shaper. Also and technique advice would be great. Thanks in advance.

J.R. Rutter
01-23-2017, 11:59 AM
I don't do much pattern shaping, but when I do I use a 4" spiral insert cutterhead with matching 4" bearing. At other shops I've been in, I have seen a budget version of this using a stack of 1/2" high straight cutters staggered with matching OD bearing.

For technique, it also depends on exactly what you are shaping, but if possible make the template extend out enough to stop the bearing rotation without the cutter touching, then ease into it. I usually try to cut 1/16" to 1/8" oversize for the part to be shaped and screw the template on (for straight cuts like table legs, I leave them long and cut off the screw holes after shaping) or use a shop built jig with toggle clamps. I don't think that I would trust double sided tape unless there was *plenty* of surface area for it.

Andy Giddings
01-23-2017, 12:05 PM
Hello all
I am new to shaper use. Actually very new. I have a machine on order, so very little experience. I do a lot of pattern routing and I'm curious what is the best tooling for doing this on a shaper. Also and technique advice would be great. Thanks in advance.