PDA

View Full Version : How much curve is too much curve?

Herv Peairs
01-21-2017, 3:20 PM
I bought a Disston No.16 from a reputable online dealer. The blade was advertised as straight, but as received from USPS the blade has a bit of a curve to it. I believe this is not within desirable limits but I am not an expert. The attached pictures show that the blade is off by about 1/4" from stem to stern. Is this a "straight" saw? If not, I may try George Wilson's boiling water (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?103313-How-to-straighten-bent-saw-blades/page2&p=1038313) (or oven) method on it.

Thanks,
Herv

Mike Brady
01-21-2017, 5:27 PM
I don't find that amount of offset to be terrible. The plate doesn't appear to have any sharp deviations or kinks in it; it just has a gradual drift that may be correctable. It could have been from poor storage or a tweak while in shipping. You should notify the seller and see what he says. I would try to flex the plate to the other side of the centerline and see if it centers itself. Ultimately it depends on what you decide with the seller and how much you have invested in the saw. It looks like it would clean up nicely too. If you paid for a in excellent condition, than this one falls short of that quality in its current state.

Nicholas Lawrence
01-21-2017, 6:15 PM
I don't know if you are collecting or using. If you are using, I would try it and see how it works. My rip saw cuts straight and has probably got as much bend in it as what I see in the photo.

Mike Brady
01-21-2017, 6:27 PM