PDA

View Full Version : Jaw alignment on fiber rotary.

Neville Stewart
01-15-2017, 3:32 PM
For the life of me I can't get these jaws to contact equally. What the heck am I doing wrong?

Chris J Anderson
01-15-2017, 5:45 PM
Hi Neville.

Remove the jaws then insert jaw no1 in slot no 1.
Then turn tool as if loosening jaws.
Turn until yiu hear and feel the thread click under jaw 1.
Then insert jaws 2 and 3.
Start tightening while holding light pressure on all jaws.

This should fix it.

If not you may have 2 jaws the same which is incorrect.
Stack them and you should see that each thread is lined up differently.

Hope this helps.

Doug Fisher
01-15-2017, 7:10 PM
Chris' reply is should help you.

I am a rotary chuck newbie too and have struggled with this. I wish I had bookmarked the link at Youtube but there was a tutorial on three and four jaw chucks that was great. It was by an instructor at a Kansas City area community college and he showed a method where you start turning the key and visually watch in the channel number one for the beginning of the scroll spiral to just appear to enter the slot 1. You put in the jaw for one. Then you advance the spiral around and it will catch the first thread on jaw one. Continue advancing the spiral until it just starts to appear in slot two. Put in jaw 2 and turn the key so the spiral catches jaw 2. Do the same for three. If you did it right, they will be aligned when you crank them all together.

I can't find the video I referenced above but if you want to see how the chuck works internally, this is interesting and you will see what I am referring to when I talk about the start of the spiral. It is on the big flat disc they show after they go inside the chuck:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AT3_w03TZhg