PDA

View Full Version : Would an Earlex Sprayport 6002 make sense for what I need to do?

Dave Schreib
01-15-2017, 8:09 AM
I am a DIY/woodworking hobbyist. Most of my projects have been things like mudroom benches, built in closet systems, etc. Typically I have painted these with latex paint and a brush/roller - and been happy with the results. I have used latex paint simply because it's what I am familiar with.

We are building a new house and I have 4-5 of these projects lined up. I recently saw an ad for the Earlex Sprayport 6002 (2 stage) sprayer and got thinking that it might be a good edition to my tool collection.

I read that a 2 stage unit would not be great for latex paint. I also read that there are other finish options that would get me that white painted look by using other finishing products - but I dont know what those are.

So if the goal is to have a nice white finish on these types of projects is there a product that I can spray on with an Earlex Sprayport 6002 that will give me a better result than what I can do with a brush/roller? As an aside, I might like to build myself some office furniture some day and the sprayer would also be used for that project.

Thanks

John TenEyck
01-15-2017, 11:02 AM
I have no experience with an Earlex, so take this for what it's worth. Most people think you need at least a 3 stage turbine, but a lot of others report good results with the Earlex 5500 (I think; a 5000 series for sure), and that is a lower end unit than the 6200 - on sale at Peachtree right now.