PDA

View Full Version : corel questions

Barbara Buhse
10-11-2005, 10:54 AM
Hi all... this is probably an easy thing for most of you, but I am not that good with Corel (12) yet...I want to engrave pictures of people and have them also cut out to the shape of the people, for christmas ornaments.I am not sure how to get the outline of the subject to vector. I have been editing original photos in MS Picture It because it seems to be the easiest way for me to manipulate photos, but when I import it into corel, the "cutout" is in a box with a white background which I can't get rid of. So, although the background does not engrave, the only cutouts I seem to be able to do are basic shapes. How can I get the shape of the subject outlined so I can vector it?I don't know much about using Corel trace either.Thanks guys!barbara

Joe Pelonio
10-11-2005, 12:07 PM
You are importing a bitmap so it will not cut. You can use the smart draw tool to outline around the shape, use the shape tool to clean it up if needed, then make sure that outline is hairline and you can cut. Make
the outline inside of the undesirable bitmap outline and it will be cut
without it, just makes a little more waste on the material. The smart draw
tool may take a litle practice but it automatically smooths out what you have drawn with the mouse, and the shape tool can be tricky for a beginner, but practice and use the help function. Corel Trace is not going to help, it will trace everything in the bitmap. That should be used for cutting a scanned or clipart solid shape you want to cut out, like a logo,
or silhouette.

Chris Cordina
10-11-2005, 3:35 PM
I have a solution, it is not hard but it is confusing. I was shown this in Adobe Photoshop elements. Don’t understand all steps, but it does work.
1. Magic wand all white(or parts you do not want) area tolerance 1 or 2.
2. Delete
3. Select & Inverse
4. Delete
At this point you should see crawlies around the outline

Layer & New & OK
Edit & Fill(Black) & OK