PDA

View Full Version : Bosch GCM 12SD saw not flat

Robin Frierson
01-08-2017, 9:57 AM
So upgraded my miter saw to the Bosch 12in glide and it arrived few days ago. Upon inspection found the left side of the table .012 out of flat. I had read others had experienced this problem but thought the issue was corrected. Ordered through Amazon so guess I will send it back. I like pretty much everything on the saw except the safety latch to turn on the saw. Anyone else suffer this issue?

John TenEyck
01-08-2017, 10:03 AM
Another bummer, Robin. You must be on the list where companies send their less than perfect equipment.

Send it back.

John

Art Mann
01-08-2017, 11:22 AM
I have to wonder how many people buy this saw or similar models and brands with the same problem and happily use them for decades without any knowledge or complaints. Being an engineer, I had to check my GCM 12SD for flatness with a precision straight edge. I found a similar situation but instead of returning the saw, I just started using it every day. I haven't yet found a situation where my observation made any difference. If you will do a little trigonometry on the amount of error you will get from this problem, you may find that it is in the few thousandths of an inch over many inches. There are many other error factors with the average SCMS that dwarf this one.

Robin Frierson
01-08-2017, 12:25 PM
You have a good point there Art. I have owned two Dewalts before this new Bosch and never checked them for flat. But having read about the issue I had to check and since its a simple return I think I would prefer one that is flatter, even though the difference may not be reflected much in the end product. Also in reading some previous threads someone posted the tolerances for Bosch is .019.....so my saw is within Bosch tolerances.

"You must be on the list where companies send their less than perfect equipment."