PDA

View Full Version : Do you use Turbo Tax or some other tax program?

dennis thompson
01-05-2017, 5:00 PM
I have been using Turbo Tax for many years. I like the fact that it will automatically transfer my info from the past year to the current year. However each year it seems they try to squeeze a little more out of me. It looks like they will now be charging for the state tax program with Turbo Tax Premier. I am thinking about switching and wonder if anyone uses any other programs. My taxes will be a little complicated this year as I sold two houses (my main residence and a vacation home) and bought a new main residence. In addition I bought & sold several stocks.
Thanks for any advice you might give,

Chris Padilla
01-05-2017, 5:24 PM
Yeah, they seem to be doing that but I still like 'em and will stick with them for the time being.

George Bokros
01-05-2017, 5:47 PM
I use H&R Block Software. It also will transfer last years data to the new software.

Wade Lippman
01-05-2017, 6:39 PM
I've used H&R Block for 12 years. It works fine and I am reasonably sure it will import from old TurboTax files. TurboTax is usually reviewed as being better, but I am used to H&R Block. I just don't know why they abandoned the name "Taxcut". I have sold houses and stocks on the Deluxe program.

Lee Schierer
01-05-2017, 6:47 PM
We've used turbo tax for years. What I have noted is that if you get the email from Intuit for the new version that you can save money for the exact same version from Amazon and other sources for less money. We buy from other sources rather than directly from Intuit. Our PA tax return is so simple that we don't use turbo tax to do it.

Bruce Page
01-05-2017, 6:48 PM
Ima long time TT user. I don't see a strong enough reason to change. I just picked it up from Costco the other day.

Larry Frank
01-05-2017, 7:31 PM