PDA

View Full Version : Bandsaw blade tension.

keith micinski
01-01-2017, 12:06 AM
Everyone is always saying you got really max that saw out to get the blade tension you need, or that saw really isn't big enough to tension that blade. So my question is, What are the ramifications of low tension? The first thing I assume would obviously be poor cut quality. My assumption would be that the lowest tension you could run on a blade and still maintain good cut quality would be the ideal tension to run. Less wear and tear on everything involved in the process. Is this accurate? I bought a used g0555 and put a 3/4 wood slicer on it after going throu all of the setup and redoing everything according to the manual. I have very little experience with a band saw so obviously I'm guessing at what is good tension by using the deflection method. The thing cut an 1/8th inch strip 6" tall perfect with zero issues. Does that mean I have the blade tension set right? If I made it tighter would I gain anything or if I made it looser would I lose anything. I see so many people always talking about tracking problems and setting blade drift when all I did was square the fence up put some random tension on the blade and make a perfect cut.

Ben Rivel
01-01-2017, 12:08 AM
If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

Dave Stuve
01-01-2017, 2:17 AM
I'm a novice with bandsaws, but found this Fine Woodworking video on changing blades useful. He claims only medium tension is needed, not really high tension, and uses the deflection method (1/4" deflection with one finger.)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LE9IrZGs3SM

Erik Loza
01-01-2017, 10:04 AM