PDA

View Full Version : Jet JBS motor

Bob Barris
12-28-2016, 1:32 PM
I have an old Jet band saw model JBS MW 14 and the motor burnt out, I mean it popped and smoked up the whole shop. Does anyone know where I can buy a motor for it ? I will also need a switch because the old one jammed. I could not find an original switch for it so I bought a heavy duty switch from a hardware and used it. I am afraid this may have caused the motor problem. I am not an expert on the electrical system of these old tools by any means. But I wonder if maybe the switch was not getting enough amps to the motor and caused the burn out. It was a good old saw, I used it for resawing. Thanks for any help.

Bruce Wrenn
12-28-2016, 9:00 PM
Odds are that motor is a NEMA 56 frame, 1725RPM motor, and most likely either 1/2 or 3/4 HP, which is a little undersized for resawing. Problem may not be as bad as you think. When you said "popped and smelled up the whole shop," this tells me the start capacitor bit the dust. It is located under a "hump" on side of motor. When you open up hump, you will see a cylinder with two wires connected to it. Probably smell burnt and have some oil on it. Check values and contact a motor shop for replacement. If motor is truely trash, then most likely motor shop will have a rebuilt motor in the 1 - 2 HP range that will be a direct swap onto your saw. I don't see a location in your post which would help find someone close to you to trouble shoot your problem.

Bob Barris
12-29-2016, 9:01 AM