PDA

View Full Version : From firewood to....

Damon McLaughlin
12-23-2016, 3:06 PM
I'm a disabled veteran and have been dealing with my issues for the past 16 years. Its been a rough time. I was introduced to woodturning earlier this year and have found it to be the best therapeutic treatment I have ever had. I find that it distracts my mind and puts me into a good place. I've found that I can be creative and I'm proud of everything that comes off of my lathe. I started with borrowing my cousin's very old Craftsman bench top lathe and after a few months I was able to save some money to buy myself a Rikon 70-220VSR. I love the lathe, and have slowly been getting a few turning tools though for now I am still borrowing my cousin's old Craftsman tools. While I live on a small fixed income I find myself saving every penny I can so that I can get a bigger lathe and better tools. But for now I'm content turning on my Rikon, and in order to boost my savings I am only turning wood that I can find for free. Sometimes I see a log along the side of the road or if I go and visit my cousin I'll acquire a few pieces of wood from his firewood stack. I'm also saving to buy some nicer woods, it'll be nice to see what I can do with some hardwoods.

Anyway, I've been turning for eight months and here are a few things that I've turned out of firewood;

Fir from North Idaho
350012 350013

Fir
350014 350015

I think is is also fir

Ash
350017 350018

Damon McLaughlin
12-23-2016, 3:15 PM
Okay, here are a couple more, done last month. I would appreciate comments and critiques.

Pine from Spokane WA
350020 350021

Cedar firewood from North Idaho

Ok, so here I found some scrap wood including walnut, oak, beech, plywood. I glued it all together to make a block and turned it into a lidded bowl. The lid is spalted maple and the finial is walnut.
350023 350024