PDA

View Full Version : Free wood! My favorite kind.

Bob Glenn
12-16-2016, 4:40 PM
I have been fortunate to being offered free wood from time to time. As word has gotten around that I am a woodworker (and I use that term loosely), a number of people have offered quantities of wood, just come and pick it up. This ranges all the way from downed trees to sawn, dried and planed boards. Most recently, a large quantity of quarter sawn red oak. I've gotten some walnut from another source. Usually the story goes like this: We had this tree blow down and we wanted to have the wood sawed up so we could use it to make something. That was five years ago and we just need the room now.

This past summer we had a large oak come down on a golf course. I asked if I could cut some of it up to split out as spindles for windsor chairs. They let me drive my van right out on the golf course. On another golf course, they lost a large walnut tree. I cut some big sections which will become carved bowls. I had a friend call and tell me he had some nice straight maple cut up and laying in his back yard. Swore it was good stuff. I went and got some, turned out to be firewood.

Any one else have similar experiences? Seems like I also see some nice logs laying in yards, waiting to be sawed, but years later they are just rotting.

Bruce Haugen
12-16-2016, 5:38 PM
I don't have much space to store such treasures, but a few years ago I got 18' of a walnut tree, minimum diameter was 16". A lot of projects got made of walnut for a long time. I also have a friend who has a tree trimming service who said I could have whatever he cuts, but alas, no room.

george wilson
12-16-2016, 6:21 PM