PDA

View Full Version : 12" Rip Blade For Softwoods

Joe Wood
12-13-2016, 6:59 PM
I need a real nice rip blade, mainly for western red cedar 2x and 4x. I don't want a thin kerf!

I'm looking at the Freud Glue Line Rip. I see Triple Chip, and Heavy Duty?
https://www.google.com/search?q=Freud+Glue+Line+Rip&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8#q=Freud+Glue+Line+Rip+12%22&tbm=shop

I see 30 and 24 tooth blades, what's a good choice for me? Doesn't have to be Freud.

Joe Wood
12-14-2016, 9:56 AM
So does anyone have any suggestions for me??

John Lanciani
12-14-2016, 10:56 AM
You definitely don't wand the Freud glue line rip, its only recommended for 1" thickness or less. For 2"+ softwood I'd be looking for an 18 to 24 tooth flat ground 1/8" kerf ripping blade.

John Lankers
12-14-2016, 11:37 AM
Because of the fibrous nature of softwood (cedar in particular) I personally would chose a blade with lower tooth count and the "glue line" cut quality has a lot to do with feed rate. I have no personal experience with the Freud Glue Line Rip blade. Make sure you have a riving knife or splitter installed, this stuff can corkscrew on you.
As a side note, for certain projects I find it better to rip on the bandsaw and then run it through the planer.

Bill White
12-14-2016, 12:03 PM
Where I worked, we ripped heart pine which was resinous big time and tough on blades.
We went to the Freud "silver coated" rip blade with 18 tpi IIRC. Worked like a champ. Cut down resin build up on the plate, cut very smoothly, and held its edge well.
Look it up.
Bill

Dave Cav
12-14-2016, 2:51 PM