PDA

View Full Version : Chinese laser RD Works engraving accuracy issue

Mario Kozic
12-13-2016, 6:52 AM
Hi guys,

I'm a complete newb to engraving. I use a typical chinese laser 40w tube and RD Works 8.
I've mostly figured out everything I need except for one issue that's killing me.

No matter what I do the laser beam always engraves outside the vector lines. You can see what I mean in the images.
It shouldn't be a focus problem because I always pay attention to aligning the head. For my machine its 24mm from work surface.

The issue is not a big deal with simple art but I can't do precision stuff and it's hurting my business.

I would be very grateful if someone with experience could point me in the right direction because RD Works is a pain in the ass.

Thanks.349384349385

John Lifer
12-13-2016, 7:09 AM
Are you just using rdworks as the program for your artwork? I.e.,import graphic into rdworks and then do prepwork in just that program? If so, you need coreldraw or another program to set up and then then just transfer to rdworks to laser. You can only do so little with rdworks on preparing. And frankly, I haven't learned, nor care to lean to draw in rdworks. Corel would let you engrave on top of your cut lines or just short of them. You just need to draw your lines that way.

Mario Kozic
12-13-2016, 8:08 AM
I'm doing all my work in Corel before importing it in RDWorks. But I'm not sure I understand what you're saying.
No matter how I set my vector lines in Corel once I import the artwork into RDWorks it imports the exact outline of the vector lines.
And even that shouldn't be an issue because as you can see from the preview image the lines in RDWorks look ok. But the laser beam crosses the lines by as much as a half of mm.
For the life of me I can't figure out why it's doing that.

Bill George
12-13-2016, 9:07 AM