PDA

View Full Version : More white knuckle work

Kev Williams
12-11-2016, 9:32 PM
Ahh, the Xmas season, when everyone wants stuff engraved.

I did one of these last week for a guy to give his son, his wife liked it so much she brought me another one...

I love the fiber for this kind of work, I only wish I had more than a 5.9" working window! ;)

The wording took up just under 17" so it was a 3 part job. A little spooky since I'm still learning to use this thing, and the fact it's been messing up lately! Note that after Gary had me yank that plug off the control board and inspect it, since I got it all back together it's ran flawlessly. Still waiting on the new scan head...

I just wish this type of work could make serious money. It can't-- unless of course I charge serious money... in which case, I probably wouldn't get this type of work. Catch-22 :)

Oh well, it was fun and it came out nice, thought I'd share...

Bert Kemp
12-11-2016, 11:48 PM
Nice job Kev looks really great.

David Somers
12-12-2016, 1:20 AM
Very nice work Kev! I would love to play with a galvo fiber but I know there is no way I have time or the need for one. And $5k to $6k for a toy is a bit much. Sigh.

Curious....do you have any Celtic/Scottish events that occur in your area? Festivals, Clan Meetings, competitions? That might be a source for similar type of work, and, with a bit of thought, an outlet for some smaller, creative pieces on your part that could be sold at their gatherings for enough to make it worth your while? Just a thought.

Kev Williams
12-12-2016, 2:27 AM
I might enjoy that kind of work more when (if) I semi-retire. The fiber makes it easy, although the setup changes on jobs like that are always a bit of a pain..

and on another note... I guess by mentioning out loud that the thing has been working great lately, I set Murphy's law in motion...