PDA

View Full Version : Kickback on a tablesaw yup its real

Dave Macy
12-11-2016, 6:49 PM
Had a close one today. Piece came flying back right past my head. Gave me a nice bleed on the ear but it basically whizzed right by me. I'd heard about it, and always try to think about it but wow.

Martin Wasner
12-11-2016, 7:18 PM
You're lucky to have survived I'm sure.

Larry Frank
12-11-2016, 7:33 PM
Glad you are OK....would really like to hear all the details so we can learn from it.

Bill Space
12-11-2016, 9:25 PM
Yes please do tell us the details!

I've been working word as a hobby for over 40 years and don't remember ever having a kickback that was of any significance, or even any at all.

But I really do like to learn from others experiences! Any and all details you can provide would be greatly appreciated by myself and many others and I am sure. Please don't hold back!

Bill

Matt Day
12-11-2016, 9:53 PM
Details please! Feather boards? Push stick? Short or long piece?

Dave Macy
12-11-2016, 9:58 PM
It was dumb and all my fault. I was cutting 1/4 strips of 6/4 walnut. I was down to about 1" of stock left, so was being careful I thought with my push stick. I was pushing with my left hand, staying to the right of the blade. The piece started to drift a bit from the fence, so I grabbed a spare piece with my left hand and moved my right to the push stick. In that second, not sure what happened, but the whole thing lifted up and flew right back. I don't have a riving knife or splitter and never heard of them until today. It's an old unisaw with no safety features. I was confident I was being careful but I guess not. I cleaned up and took the rest of the day off.

Mike Manning
12-11-2016, 10:56 PM
Good lesson learned without significant injury. You got lucky today and we're all glad for that! Thanks for sharing.

Joe Jensen
12-11-2016, 11:20 PM