PDA

View Full Version : Help with Chinese laser!

Ryan Lanzel
12-02-2016, 3:09 PM
I am very new to the laser engraver scene, and even newer to the forum scene, although I figured this would be a great place to get started! Basically, we purchased a G-Weike laser from China in order to test out some product ideas in house cheaply and effectivly before investing more money into a higher end machine for our professional production. We have an 80W G-Weike LC1390 that uses the RDWorksV8 program to execute the artwork. I have run a number of tests with the machine on several substraits and have gotten to know it fairly well. As you probably know, a major downfall with the Chinese lasers can typically be the lack of customer support from the company, this is where you come in. When I scan, or engrave the artwork, I can adjust the speed in the program from 10 to about 200 with noticeable results, although when I turn the speed up higher then 200, such as 500 or 1,000 it seems to move the laser the same speed as 200, though the difference is that it swings the laser much wider then the artwork's perimeters. The higher the speed, the wider the laser moves. I realize some machines are just simply not as fast as others, although the speed at 200 just seems slow for a top working speed and is not effecient at all when it comes to large jobs. I feel like there must be something I am missing since raising the speed past 200 doesn't seem to actually speed up the production at all, rather it slows the overall job by wasting time moving past the artwork on both sides. The only other thing that I am confused about at this point is whether or not it is possible to convert the RDWorks rulers to inches?! Any help on this would be greatly appreciated!

Bill George
12-02-2016, 4:06 PM