PDA

View Full Version : Nice visit from two Creekers

Carole Valentine
10-07-2005, 6:19 PM
Mike Toupin and his dad, Ken, came over today bearing fantastic gifts! They brought some huge hunks of beautiful spalted maple, a jug of Nelsonite stabilizer, and a wonderful Corian cutting board that Ken made. (The cutting board is the perfect size and I have already used it to roll out my "Perfectly Illegal Biscuits" tonight.) We went to the log dump and Ken and I put Mike to work with the chainsaw cutting up Maple, Cedar and some Birch. (That's what he gets for being young and in shape! LOL) We eyeballed a huge maple stump with a multi-trunk crotch that looked just too big for our 18" saws so we left it alone. Mike found a Pyracantha (sp?) root ball and I can't wait to see what he makes out of that! Sent them home with two Jet Mini extensions that I have been stubbing my toes on for for 8 months, some cocobolo pen blanks, and some Gum and Mulberry in addition to half of the log dump stuff. I really enjoyed visiting with them. They are a couple of great guys!

Don Baer
10-07-2005, 6:26 PM
Where's the Pix.... No Pix, it didn't happen.

:D

Ain't it fun comuning(sp?) with Creekers.

Carole Valentine
10-07-2005, 6:35 PM
Guilty! Forgot to take the camera when we went to the log dump! Will pics of the wood work? LOL

John Hart
10-07-2005, 7:02 PM
I think pics of the bisquits will help. Nice story...too bad it's fiction! :D

Carole Valentine
10-07-2005, 8:08 PM
Well here is some of the wood. This spectacular maple is some of what Mike and Ken brought:
http://www.esva.net/%7Epchousecalls/wowmaple35.jpg
http://www.esva.net/%7Epchousecalls/2wowmaple35.jpg

This some of the wood we got from the dump. The first is Birch and a cool piece of Maple(?) Don't have a clue what to do with that. The second is chunk of a cedar trunk that Mike slaved over to cut up. I should go take a pic of that big multi-crotch trunk. Maybe one of you guys would be willing to take it on! LOL