PDA

View Full Version : Large Format Lasers?

Kit Dumph
11-26-2016, 8:47 AM
Alright guys, my company is getting close to requiring a second laser. I have loved my epilog for the most part, and it's nice having the factory only an hour away. Only issue now is that I don't think they offer(perhaps they will do a custom build) a large format laser? I'm looking to be able to do at least 4'X8'. My current products are pieces of wall art that take up the entire piece of material. I constantly get lots of questions if I can go bigger and I'd like to offer this option to my customers.

So the question is, what do you guys recommend? Now that I have some experience with these I'd be perfectly fine with using a US company that imports from overseas. Anything else I should be considering when looking at these?

Bruce Volden
11-26-2016, 9:31 AM
Kern Laser!

Bruce

Kit Dumph
11-26-2016, 10:14 AM
Any idea on the pricing for the Kern? I just sent them a RFI, but I'm guessing they are pricy...

Bert Kemp
11-26-2016, 12:14 PM
I saw one Kern 52" x 100" 400 watt 168K

Kit Dumph
11-26-2016, 2:33 PM
168k is going to be far our of my price range for now. Also don't need 400 watts, maybe a 100 at the most just for fun. The 50 Watt I have right now is more then enough for my products.

Kev Williams
11-26-2016, 2:45 PM
I've had good luck so far with Triumph, and they sell big machines, this link is to a pair of 4'x8' machines and a 6'x10'er. Have no idea what they cost, but email Yolanda, she'll gladly email you pricing. Even if you don't buy from them, their prices are a good measure of the market in general. The only catch with them is, they have no US suppliers...

http://www.triumphlaser.com/non-metal%20laser%20cutting%20bed.html

Rummaging around Alibaba might get you some pricing too...

Kit Dumph
11-27-2016, 7:40 AM