PDA

View Full Version : RDworks and creating efficient files

Jason Hakki
11-25-2016, 3:57 PM
Hi guys,

I recently bought a Ray Fine 80 watt laser cutter. I'm still learning on it. I am currently cutting a plaque with a small boarder, some text, and two images at the bottom. Right now it is doing the vector scan, and it seems very wasteful that it is sweeping the whole plaque to do the boarder and ignoring the images. Is there any way I can get it to do both the images and vectors at the same time? Is this typical or is it operator error?? I'm sure there is probably a simple way to create a more efficient file.

Also, do people who bought chinese laser cutters stick with RDworks or is there better software out there?

Much appreciated! 348230

Bill George
11-25-2016, 4:08 PM
Hi guys,

I recently bought a Ray Fine 80 watt laser cutter. I'm still learning on it. I am currently cutting a plaque with a small boarder, some text, and two images at the bottom. Right now it is doing the vector scan, and it seems very wasteful that it is sweeping the whole plaque to do the boarder and ignoring the images. Is there any way I can get it to do both the images and vectors at the same time? Is this typical or is it operator error?? I'm sure there is probably a simple way to create a more efficient file.

Also, do people who bought chinese laser cutters stick with RDworks or is there better software out there?

Much appreciated! 348230

Its not doing a Vector scan its doing a raster engraving. Vectors are continuous lines unbroken. With a vector the laser will be on 100% and be following a path.
Yes its operator error you need to learn how to create files with different colors Red is usually used as a vector path. Black or other colors are for raster or engraving images or the like. Its not the software, you just need to learn how to use it correctly. In the software you assign each color a certain function, power and speed.