PDA

View Full Version : Mountain Biking

Rich Konopka
10-06-2005, 8:08 PM
Just wondering if anyone is into mountain biking when they need to clear the air of all that sawdust. I have been riding on and off for 15 years and recently got my youngest hooked. It seems that my old Fugi Thrill MTB is on its last legs and I'm looking to upgrade to a newer bike.

In doing some research it seems that everything is made In China with the exception of a few. What strikes me is that the prices do not seem all that reasonable for something made with cheap labor.

I like the Cannondales and they are out of CT and PA. I would be interested in what you have for a MTB.

Thanks

Rob Russell
10-06-2005, 8:30 PM
We bought mountain bikes shortly after they first came out and didn't get the use out of them that we thought we would. We have gotten more use out of the road bikes, at least I have.

The bikes we have are steel Treks. To give you an idea of when we got them, it was just after hyperglide came out. Comparing our bikes to new ones - they're heavy, hardtails and are rather like tanks. They are hanging in the shed collecting dust.

Bob Johnson2
10-06-2005, 8:35 PM
Got a Kona Blast that I really like, it's a few years old now but I think it may still be a current model. I did some looking and it was between the Konas and the Specialized as those are what the local dealers carry that were in my price range.

Andy Halterman
10-06-2005, 10:12 PM
My current favorite is a Rocky Mountain Flow hardtail. Built like a tank to take abuse. (I like to jump things) Just put a Marzocchi AM3 fork on it today. Five inches of plush travel. Disc brakes front and rear. Second favorite is an Intense Uzzi SLX. Six inches of suspension on each end. I like to call it my "40 pounds of uphill fury" bike. No fun climbing but I can ride over you and not even feel it on the down side.