PDA

View Full Version : help me pick first chuck...

Mike Kees
11-18-2016, 12:35 PM
I have limited lathe experience( school shop 30 years ago). I would like to buy a chuck for my lathe but have no idea which one to get. I would like to use it for bowls and my son wants to turn a shift knob for his first car. I have an old rockwell lathe that I rebuilt,the threads are 1'' x8t.p.i. I think. What would you guys recommend for a good all purpose chuck that I wont have to replace down the road ? Thanks ,Mike.

Doug W Swanson
11-18-2016, 12:41 PM
I'd go with something like a Nova G3. Be sure to get one with the replaceable insert so if you ever upgrade your lathe you'll just need to change your insert. The Nova chucks are nice quality and you can buy a whole mess of different jaws for them.

Pretty soon you'll get tired of changing jaws so you'll buy more chucks (I have 5 chucks with different jaws :eek:)!!!

https://www.amazon.com/WOODLATHE-CHUCK-WOODWORM-SCREW-INSERT/dp/B003CECDZG

Leo Van Der Loo
11-18-2016, 1:48 PM
A high quality Chuck set that will last you and your son for a lifetime, and can be adapted to other lathes for a mere $24--, good for bowls up to 16”, then a Oneway Talon chuck is for you, made in N.America, not China.

http://www.leevalley.com/US/Wood/page.aspx?p=45612&cat=1,330,69091&ap=1

cody michael
11-18-2016, 1:58 PM
I second the two post above get a scroll chuck, works like a drill bit chuck, you use a wrench or tool to spin it to open or shut the jaws, I started with the other style where you need two metal rods to open or shut the jaws it was a pain.

Louis Harvill
11-18-2016, 2:15 PM
I second Leo's post on the Talon. I have two of them and have done many 12"+ bowls with them.

Chance Raser
11-18-2016, 2:37 PM
I recently bought my first Chuck and after lots and lots and lots of reading I ultimately went with the hurricane htc100 and couldn't be happier. Bought it for price, reviews, jaw options, and insert adaptability to future lathes.