PDA

View Full Version : Disabled Veteran dreaming of affording a Laser engraver

Edward Henry
11-14-2016, 7:54 PM
Hi folks, I am dreaming of getting a Laser engraver. Researched Trotec, Epilog, Glowforge and even Chinese K40 cheapo. The cheap is out as they only do black and white, I wish to do images in acrylics and glass to edge light. I liked the Epilog Helix 50 watt though I think 60 would be more versatile. Sadly they cost more than I can finance right now so even though they are 2-3times slower I might have to start with a Zing system.

I am hoping I can learn to make items to sell that would net me an extra $500-$1000 a month plus pay for the Laser over time and material expenses, is this unreasonable for someone with no knowledge of the equipment and software? I hope to find a class on Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator, Corel Draw, and 3D software for when I get a 3D printer some day.

I am an amateur astrophotographer so I thought I would start with edgelit acrylic signs from Astronomy images taken by the amateur community so they have a nice memento of their best images. Here is a sample done on an Epilog Helix 50 watt. Acrylic and aluminum for like custom business card or something. I also thought to us the laser to lightly etch images on wood to then burn the details by hand. I currently draw the image 2-3 times between tracing to wood and burning so thought the laser could do my outlines.

I guess I am wondering if this dream is a waste of time, what equipment you all suggest to accomplish my dream, info on operating costs, Any disabled Veterans that can tell me how this would effect my VA disability and SSDI (my only current income), how do you decide on price for your product, how do you handle taxes and such? And where is best place to learn the software (online or a graphics arts school)?

Any tips, advice information will be helpful.

Keith Downing
11-14-2016, 8:15 PM