PDA

View Full Version : Which electric switch?

Mark Gibney
11-10-2016, 10:33 AM
I'm fixing up a jointer and the on / off switch buttons are in poor shape.

Do I try to get new buttons (where? what do I ask for?) or do I need a whole new switch box?

Or do I just use a paddle on / off switch instead? The motor is 240 volt, 1 1/2 hp.

thank you

Keith Hankins
11-10-2016, 10:40 AM
I'm not an expert on this switch but that looks like a contactor which a simple on/off will not work. I'd go over to owwm group

http://www.owwm.org/

and somoene will help. They have a classifieds forum called bring out your dead and switches often show up for sell.

I'd start there.

Malcolm McLeod
11-10-2016, 11:44 AM
Do I try to get new buttons (where? what do I ask for?) or do I need a whole new switch box?

You can usually find replacement "operators" (just the portion that your finger touches and the mounting ring/nuts that hold it in the box cover). Expect to pay $5-$8 for each. They are sized by the diameter of the hole in the cover. (These look to be 30.5mm, but that's just eye-ball guess, based on relative scale of the starter.) Next smaller size is 22mm.

I can't tell from the photo, but major suppliers are SquareD/Schneider, Allen-Bradley, Cutler-Hammer, Siemens, and Eaton. This looks American, so you can probably scratch Siemens. Eaton may be too new for this vintage?? Doesn't look like A-B. ...So maybe SqD or CH. It is most likely the operators are from the same manufacturer as the starter, so look for a label on the side or back, then find a local distributor.

Rich Riddle
11-10-2016, 12:40 PM
The switch you have is far superior to a simple paddle switch. With the one pictured, if the tool loses power, then even if the electricity comes back on, the circuit must be re-energized. With a simple paddle switch, if you lose electricity for a moment, the moment the electricity returns, your tool is once again powered unless you turned it off after losing power.

Bill Space