PDA

View Full Version : What kind of wood is this?

Edvins Roze
11-03-2016, 11:10 PM
Hi -

Newbie question. I'm a relatively new woodworker about to build my first set of cabinets with finer wood. I really like the look of the wood used for these cabinets. Could someone help me identify what kind of wood it is?

Thanks for any help you can provide!

Ed

Paul Girouard
11-03-2016, 11:22 PM
Wild guess by zooming in on the hood parts, Cherry plywood with a light Walnut stain.
A closer photo of the solid wood areas would help , but my guess is you snagged the photo off the net , so it's not something you can take a close up of.

Andy Giddings
11-03-2016, 11:24 PM
Not an expert but the frame looks like an open/coarse grain wood that's been stained, so I would guess either Ash or Red Oak. The side panels are ply (could be Maple that again has been stained). If you want a similar look, you don't have to use the same material, just use a stain to match. I would use a dye rather than a pigment stain. If you look at the Homestead Finishing Products website, you'll see the color chart of the standard range which can be mixed to create almost any tint http://homesteadfinishingproducts.com/, along with a whole bunch of instructional information on staining wood

Edvins Roze
11-03-2016, 11:27 PM
Thanks so much Paul for your "wild guess." It's likely much better than My guess would be. I do have these two additional shots... Not sure if these are better.

Edvins Roze
11-03-2016, 11:29 PM
Thank You Andy. I appreciate the tip. I will take a look. I suspect I will have to play a little with various samples to see what comes close..

Van Huskey
11-03-2016, 11:39 PM
Based on the cathedrals in the last picture I am guessing oak, but in any case the color appears to be from stain and not the natural wood color.

Paul Girouard
11-04-2016, 1:19 AM