PDA

View Full Version : Clamping straight edge

jack duren
10-28-2016, 6:49 PM
Been looking around at these wondering if there was any brands offered that have more metal for guts versus plastic? I see the Bora brand but thought maybe there was a brand that is better that I'm missing.

What is the longest single and combined offered?

glenn bradley
10-28-2016, 7:12 PM
The E.Emerson Tool All In One "Contractor" (http://www.eemersontool.com/c-series)version seemed the best balance between price and function for me. Generally available and frequently on sale (Rockler, Amazon, even Wal Mart). They offer a narrower "A" version and a hella-stout "U" series. I find the Bora pretty light by comparison. The Pro-Grip offered by Peachtree is about the same weight as the All In One and simlarly proced but, I have no hands on experience with them. The All In One went on sale and I had been waiting to snap one up so that's where I landed.

Bill Conerly
10-28-2016, 11:12 PM
I'm currently using a board that I will C-clamp on plywood sheets as an edge. When I'm almost at the right location, I lightly clamp and then tap with a mallet to get it exactly right. Can I do that with one of these edge guides, or would I have to release the clamp, reposition, and then re-clamp?

glenn bradley
10-29-2016, 10:48 AM
I'm currently using a board that I will C-clamp on plywood sheets as an edge. When I'm almost at the right location, I lightly clamp and then tap with a mallet to get it exactly right. Can I do that with one of these edge guides, or would I have to release the clamp, reposition, and then re-clamp?