PDA

View Full Version : Radiant floor heating

Rob Blaustein
10-04-2005, 12:43 PM
We're putting in a new master bedroom and bath (tile floor in the bathroom) and would like to install some sort of radiant floor heating for the bathroom. Since our house uses forced hot air we thought we'd use an electric system (but if that logic is faulty, let me know). Does anyone have any experience with these and can you recommend (or warn us against) a particular brand--there appear to be many out there. I did see an interesting product used on a remodel on the DIY network--it was a conducting polymer that heated up, and it was also I think the only low voltage version of electrical radiant heating. The company was called Step Warmfloor. Anyone have any personal experience with them? Thanks.

Ed Breen
10-04-2005, 5:22 PM
Rob,

I'm no expert, but if you are still in the design phase why not use the hot water system for your home to provide the heat. If you are putting in an "always hot" system, you can tap into the line on the return side and keeep your floor toasty. Use of a by pass for summer use would be wise.
Just my thoughts!
Ed:rolleyes:

Rob Russell
10-04-2005, 5:37 PM
Rob,

What you use depends on what you want to do - heat the room with the radiant heat or have warm floors for your tootsies on those winter days we get in New England.

If your desire is to heat the room with the floor, you really want a hydronic system. You could do a small system just for the room with a mini hot water heater as the heat source. The bathroom would have its own thermostat, so you could have the bathroom warm and bedroom cool as many of us up here like to do.

The low voltage system you referred to is good for taking the chill off of the floor so you can walk on it barefoot, but not as a primary heat source.

My experience is based on the research I did as part of the design for a 1000 sq ft addition to our house, 768 sq ft of which has hydronic radiant heat that I installed.