PDA

View Full Version : Craftsman shoulder plane

Brent Cutshall
10-15-2016, 6:55 PM
Weeeell, I was down at a local antique shop for reasons that are needless to say, and I narrowly purchased an iron bodied duplex rabbet plane(minus the duplex, didn't have fences). When I got home and blew the dust off, I noticed that the iron said Craftsman, I thought uh-oh. I had never seen a Craftsman plane before and I thought maybe it was lower quality than what I could have got. So, I did some research from my resources and found out that it was a #107.1 and placed it around 1950(ish). It cuts well so I really don't care if McDonalds made it:p. Anyway, I was wondering if anybody was familiar with this plane and also if anybody knows if a Stanley No.78 fence would work on it.

Nicholas Lawrence
10-15-2016, 7:26 PM
Sears had different manufacturers make the "Craftsman" line. I am not an expert on these things, but I think in that time period Millers Falls was making a lot of their woodworking tools. They made a plane similar to the 78 (I do not have one, but think it was the 85).

steven c newman
10-15-2016, 7:26 PM
The "107" would be a Millers Falls made plane. Not sure how a Stanley fence would work, or not work. It would depend on the diameter of the rod for the fence.

Bill Houghton
10-15-2016, 9:07 PM
The thread size/pitch for the fence rod, and, if I recall right, the offset from fence rod to the top of the fence, differs from Stanley to Millers-Falls. If you've got a digital camera and are comfortable posting a picture here, that could help us ID it, which could then send you in the right direction for the fence.