PDA

View Full Version : Router Table/Lift vs. Shaper

Robert Engel
10-12-2016, 9:55 AM
The dedicated router in my router table is biting the dust. My router lift is a Router Raizer.

With the for a router + lift hovering over $600, why not buy this (http://www.grizzly.com/products/1-1-2-HP-Shaper/G1035?utm_campaign=zPage) shaper?

What don’t I know?

What should I know?

Andrew Kertesz
10-12-2016, 10:09 AM
I'm not an expert by any means, so take this with a grain of salt. With a router; cheaper bits, better bit selection, more versatility, can be hand held, better speed selection (depending on the router). I've always associated a shaper with a production environment where you may be swinging large bits (panel raising) on a regular basis. Most of those I believe come in a 1" bore which that shaper doesn't have listed. I'm sure somebody with more knowledge will chime in sooner or later... Just my .02 cents...

Cody Jensen
10-12-2016, 10:22 AM
The only two things I notice are that it has pretty low HP, so you are going to struggle if you do use larger bits, and if you just use 1/2" router bits, the spindle speed may be too low to use. 10K rpm maximum seems really low for a lot of operations.

peter Joseph
10-12-2016, 10:23 AM
Fair question I've often considered myself. One, you of course have to factor in the cost of buying shaper cutters. Two, when I last considered this I had planned on getting the adapter/collar which allows you to use router bits in a shaper. The feedback that I got was that shapers generally have a lower RPM than a router and that the results I would get with such a set-up would be lackluster. I then got addicted to molding planes and havent though about it since :D

Jeff Monson
10-12-2016, 10:25 AM