PDA

View Full Version : Picket Fence Material

Alex Horvath
10-09-2016, 3:55 PM
Hi,
I'm an experienced woodworker planning a painted picket fence. It will be small scale with no more than 6' post spacing, between 3 or 4' tall. I'm planning boxed 4x4 posts with the 2"x2" pyramid pickets with dual 1"x4" rails sandwiching the pickets. Walpole calls this Westchester.

Material -

I wanted to do the whole fence in Azek however Azek rails sag. I could easily support the fence mid span with a small concrete pier with bracket (I will have a kickboard) but even the Azek salesman was a bit skeptical. I will probably use the pre-made Azek post boxes, a bit pricey but will save time and it's the posts that take most of the abuse. The rest would then be redwood if Azek is not possible. I have used the marine epoxy treatment on wood before. Very pricey though so I'll have to calculate the cost. It seems that Azek S4S is about the same as select heart redwood.

Are the Azek rails not advised under any circumstances?
Perhaps even with pier supports the rails would lean over time?
Walpole says they offer Azek fences but they don't provide details on line. I don't like the molded plastic fences - I can spot those 50' away.

Joinery - I assume the best way to attach the 1"x4" rails to the posts is mortise and tenon but this is time consuming. Would pocket screws work (using a longer exterior grade screw of course) or is there some other method? For construction grade fences I use the Simpson fence brackets but those are for 2"x4" and they don't look so good.

Curved section - I will have 2 sections with gentle curves (~20' radius). I have done a redwood arch using short pieces laminated together - then bandsaw the arch from this. Can curved rails be done the same way, i.e. glue pieces of 1"x or 2"x together vertically until you have the radius you want then bandsaw out the desired 1"x 4" ? Azek has an advantage here as it can be heated and formed at will.

Thanks

Jim Becker