PDA

View Full Version : The Floating Credenza - Build Thread

Brian Holcombe
09-27-2016, 9:03 AM
Good morning! I've started off a new build, creating a pair of wall hanging credenzas, one for media (TV) and the other for general storage. Both will featuring sliding doors, one will featuring drawers in addition to those sliding doors.

Please check out my post here;

https://brianholcombewoodworker.com/2016/09/26/the-floating-credenza/

I look forward to your comments.

Prashun Patel
09-27-2016, 9:55 AM
Brian-
That medicine cabinet looks familiar.... Love the design. I thought you made that in cypress. The wood looks very much like beech.

Pat Barry
09-27-2016, 10:00 AM
Cool! This will be interesting, as usual. ;)

Eric Schubert
09-27-2016, 10:49 AM
Nice work, Brian! As a beginning woodworker, I'll be following along and hoping to pick up a few tips along the way. It's looking fantastic, so far.

Brian Holcombe
09-27-2016, 12:31 PM
Brian-
That medicine cabinet looks familiar.... Love the design. I thought you made that in cypress. The wood looks very much like beech.

Thank you! They do look similar but that is white cypress. It's enjoyable to work on but not quite as much as yellow cedar.

Cool! This will be interesting, as usual. ;)

Thanks Pat!

Nice work, Brian! As a beginning woodworker, I'll be following along and hoping to pick up a few tips along the way. It's looking fantastic, so far.

Thanks Eric, if you have any questions please fire away.

Eric Schubert
09-27-2016, 12:46 PM
Thanks Eric, if you have any questions please fire away.

If you insist... :)

Can I ask how you edge plane your boards to make sure they're straight, and not concave along the edges? Looks like you got a very nice glue-up on your panels.

Brian Holcombe
09-27-2016, 3:40 PM
I will answer with a video;

https://youtu.be/vvwUICq2vQk

Prashun Patel
09-27-2016, 4:26 PM
Great video. Your movements speak so much more than words. I appreciate your presentation style.

Eric Schubert