PDA

View Full Version : Disston D23 versus Disston #12

alan west
09-09-2016, 9:55 AM
For the last few years I have used a Disston D23 26” 8pt as my primary rip saw. It is filed with zero rake, was made about in the 50’s, and I can closely rip to a line with it. I work with a lot of hard maple and acquired a Disston #12 to see if a thinner blade would be easier to cut with. Not saying cutting with the D23 was hard. I used to rip with a D8 and going to a D23 thinner blade was a big improvement. The Disston #12 is an 8pt and was re-filed rip with a zero rake. I am not an expert on filing saws, but I have done it about thirty times and I am pleased with my results. My problem is I struggle cutting to a line with the #12 and at first it always went to the right. The handle feels way different. On all my saws, when I saw my index finger points straight on the side of the handle with the rest of my fingers curled around the handle holding it. The only way I can somewhat cut a straight line is to wrap my index finger around the handle on the #12, which feels so alien. This works in maple, but I cut pine last night and the saw took off to the right again. I have stoned the right side at least twenty times it seems trying to figure this out and it seems to make no difference. The saw initially had a lot of set and I removed most of that when I filed it. Any ideas? Is my hand just used to a more modern handle as in the D23 versus the #12?

I was excited to get the old #12 after reading how Disston quality went downhill in the 50's, as the later ones is all I have ever had for saws.

lowell holmes
09-09-2016, 12:35 PM
I posted a picture of a handle I made for a D7 saw in another current string. You might go look at it.

If you don't like the feel of the handle on your #12, I suggest you make another for it.
You can use a handle you do like for a model or make a new drawing your self.