PDA

View Full Version : New Machine

Steven Pinho
09-07-2016, 7:23 AM
Hey guys, I'm new to engraving and I was looking to purchase my first machine. I wanted something reliable with good support and a good name. these are the two I'm looking at.
Does anyone have an experience with either of them? Also feel free to recommend me to something else.

Full Spectrum H Series
https://fslaser.com/Product/Hobby

BOSS LS-1416
https://www.bosslaser.com/boss-ls-1416.html#.V8_4QE0rLmE

Thanks

gary l roberts
09-07-2016, 8:31 AM
Welcome,
I would recommend you do a search here on machines. The topic is well covered. Chines vs Western, company purchase vs self import, pros and cons of all types and styles. Mostly, it will depend on your use and projected growth, size and power.

Bill George
09-07-2016, 9:43 AM
Ditto, That question or which Chinese laser gets asked at least once a week on here. Followed by, I got this machine off eBay and ...... Do some searching.

Bert Kemp
09-07-2016, 10:26 AM
Doing a search will tell you to stay away from full spectrum far far away. Thunder is OK you might also look at Rabbit Laser very good machines good support.

Art Mann
09-07-2016, 12:02 PM
Is it possible that Full Spectrum may have improved their hardware and customer service since they earned the bad reputation you hear so much about? They are currently being sold by Rockler and I can't imagine they would market a machine with such poor reliability and no customer support.

David Somers
09-07-2016, 12:25 PM
Art, What I am hearing from a number of Rockler Managers in our area (WA and OR) is that the machines are a headache. The users I talk with that have bought from Rockler seem to feel the same way. They may or may not work out of the box, and support has been ..... difficult?

Bert Kemp
09-07-2016, 12:37 PM
Heres what you do email FSL and ask them a direct question
" how long is your 40 watt tube" I've done this and they won't tell me they give me the run around.