PDA

View Full Version : 1st Segmented Turning attempts

Mark Greenbaum
08-30-2016, 2:31 PM
I receive a couple of Beta-test kits from a fellow in Upstate NY, to try my hand at doing segmented turnings. He's gotten into very precise angle cutting and assured me the kit would practically put itself together. The first small bowl I assembled using masking tape to clamp the ring segments together (not too bad actually). That bowl turned out OK, and was pretty small. It will get shipped back to the donor this weekend. Pretty plain, but not bad for a 1st attempt.

The second kit (for me to keep) I added some scraps of mahogany to create a better brick and mortar effect, which made a slightly taller, and larger little bowl. Be easy on me as I am a novice to this media technique.

Paul Williams
08-30-2016, 3:12 PM
Segmented work is just not my thing, but I like the brick and mortar effect. Your joints look good, especially considering your tape clamping procedure. Very nice of your friend to make you a "kit" to get started. Sounds like a very good way to help someone discover segmented turnings. I'm visualizing a basket weave effect by using your contrasting wood pattern with smaller pieces. Might have to try that for our church's next "basket sale."

Mark Greenbaum
08-30-2016, 4:20 PM
Actually, the 2nd turning I purchased large strap clamps which made the joining easier. I was worried a bit that the various graing directions of the mahogany was going to be a problem. But I did not have any visible tear outs.

Glenn C Roberts
08-30-2016, 5:25 PM
Mark, Can you describe how he made the kits?

Bob Coates
08-30-2016, 6:46 PM
Mark,
Here is a youtube showing you how to cut your own perfect segments.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Yl-qDN1HtI
Use his comment for making a 12 segment ring by using a 30 60 triangle. Works.

Mark Greenbaum
08-30-2016, 8:44 PM
Mark, Can you describe how he made the kits?