PDA

View Full Version : timing for roubo build

tim vadas
08-28-2016, 9:00 PM
Hi all,

I'm thinking about starting to build a roubo bench, but i have a couple questions before i start. I have a good hobby workshop with pm66, 8" jointer, drill press, nice bandsaw, 15" planer, and a good collection of hand tools, so i shouldn't be limited by tools. I've got about 10 years experience building mostly furniture (sideboard, couple bookcases, end tables, etc.), so in terms of skills, i'm adequate. Just a couple questions:

1) Approximately how long do you think it would it take to build the frame and top? I have adequate skills, but am only working a couple hours nights and weekends on it. I ask because once i get started on this, i won't have room to do much else in the workshop and there are some other things i need to do around the house in the fall. I haven't completely decided on size yet, but i think 24" wide by 7' long. So far, I have the pieces for the legs, frame and top roughed out and taking up too much space in my shop. If it takes too long though to put together, i just might wait until the winter.

2) I'm using oak because i have it. I had some trees sawed into lumber and plan to use the lesser quality 8/4 boards. Most of the wood is quartersawn, but there are knots here and there. I figured i would keep knots away from the outside faces of the tables and legs, and keep them on the inside. If they are not tight knots, i thought i would just rout out the center of them before gluing anything together so i don't have to worry about them moving around. Does that seem adequate? anyone foresee any problems with that?

Thanks for any input!

Tim

Roy Turbett
08-29-2016, 10:21 PM
Hi all,

1) Approximately how long do you think it would it take to build the frame and top? .

Tim

Like any project, it will take whatever amount of time you allow for it. That's why it always took me a full semester to write a term paper that was assigned on day one!

Randy Bonella