PDA

View Full Version : File Design Help

Angela Pascal
08-15-2016, 5:48 PM
Hello All,

I am new here and may be in the wrong section.

I just recently purchased a laser cutter to make some items for my wedding. I am trying to make acrylic table numbers with bases and I cannot seem to figure out how to make the files. I am a novice.

Can anyone recommend a person or company that makes custom ready to cut files for a laser cutter?

attached is a photo of what I am trying to create. Basically a number with a base.

any and all advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks so much in advance!

Mike Chance in Iowa
08-15-2016, 6:22 PM
Try these sites to help you create your own files.

http://www.gravograph.com/usa/Support/Knowledge_Base.php

https://www.epiloglaser.com/resources/sample-club.htm

Michael Hunter
08-15-2016, 6:44 PM
It would be easier to help you if you told us -

What make of laser you have
and
What drawing software you use

The numbers are a pretty good starter project - not very difficult, but needing some accuracy to fit the bases.

Bert Kemp
08-15-2016, 6:46 PM
Hi Angela you didn't say what you have for a laser machine or what software your working with. These are pretty easy to create in corel draw, or any basic drawing program.and then import to your laser.Corel will have all the numbers and different fonts its simply a matter of adding a tab and then cutting the base with a slot that will fit the tab.

Michael you type faster then me LOL

Angela Pascal
08-15-2016, 7:19 PM
Thanks so much for your help everyone. I have a 40 watt Chinese laser. It came with moshiDraw software. I also have Corel x6

Bert Kemp
08-15-2016, 7:44 PM
Well if you need any help with the design just shout pretty easy to do in corel:)

Angela Pascal
08-15-2016, 7:56 PM
Thanks Bert!

I think I'm more worried about making sure the tab will fit in the base. Any suggestions?

Bert Kemp
08-15-2016, 8:20 PM