PDA

View Full Version : Rabbet Cut On Long Piece of Trim ShipLap Joint - Best Tool to Use?

Dan Aims
08-14-2016, 6:51 PM
Hi everyone, I am a novice with wood work. I was hoping to get some advice and/or pointers on my best options for adding a 1/2" wide and 1/2" long rabbet on a piece of trim.

I have a small router table but the piece of trim I am working with (which is pvc) is 18' long x 5" x 1". I am rabbeting the 5" side so I can connect the trim boards on my belly band (aka watertable).

I have a handheld plunge router as well. Would the best way to get this rabbet done be by buying a 1/2" rabbet bit? I have straight bits and the router does have a fence attachment. I just tried doing it with the straight bit and fence attachment but got a bounce in towards the middle of the fence attachment which has a space for the bit to not get snagged on.

This is final trim for the outside so I need to hit this pretty accurate. Should I buy a 1/2 rabbet bit for the router?

pat warner
08-14-2016, 8:46 PM
No surprises with a 1/2 rabbet bit. But it is 1.5 in D, a large cutter for a novice.
Do it in stages, maybe 1/3, 1/3, 1/3. Practice on scrap.

Dan Aims
08-14-2016, 10:31 PM
Thanks for the reply pat.

When you mentioned "D" I am going to assume depth correct? So you mean to do 3 depths adjustment while cutting?

Joe A Faulkner
08-14-2016, 10:33 PM
You could easily do this with a circular saw and cross cut jig similar to what is often used to cut vinyl siding to length. Set the depth of your saw to 1/2" and make multiple passes to cut your dado. You might need to touch it with a chisel. You could easily build a similar jig for your router. Here is a you tube on a cross cut jig. I've always seen these built using a 10' or 12' 2x10 thrown across a couple of saw horses - which is way better than working off the ground. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dqaRyS5u4C4.

Here's another variation: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vss24Y6aMdQ

Dan Aims
08-14-2016, 11:20 PM
Hi Joe,