PDA

View Full Version : Into virgin territory with hydraulics

Tony Zona
08-12-2016, 6:42 PM
The other day the two-stage hydraulic pump lost the low range in my 22-ton log splitter. Oddly it kept splitting good mostly O.K. with only the high stage, but very slowly.

The new pump arrived this afternoon, and tomorrow will the the big day for me: My first venture into hydraulics repair or replacement. I bought the pump, the spider and the Lovejoy fitting that connects the pump shaft to the engine shaft.

I'm a little concerned about air in the hydraulic line after I am done. Does anybody have any pointers for me? Or should I not worry a lot about that?

The wood splitter factory guy said it is not a difficult weekend warrior job, but I know when a hose was replace in my front end loader, it took some time for air to work its way out. It wasn't a big deal, just a little disconcerting for a while.

What should I watch out for in replacement?

I have never done this before.

John Ziebron
08-12-2016, 10:49 PM
Tony, the air will purge itself out simply by exercising the cylinder. You may have to do this many times but you'll know that the air is gone once the cylinder starts working at normal speed with no jerking. Just make sure all your connections are sealed and please wear safety glasses or better yet goggles if you have them when you fire it back up. High pressure hydraulic fluid leaks can be very dangerous. Good luck.

Jerry Bruette
08-13-2016, 1:04 AM
Tony

I'd pour some oil in the pump after you hook up the suction line. You can pour it in through the discharge line, I'd make sure the cylinder is full of oil too.

Tony Zona
08-13-2016, 6:00 AM
Thank you. Safety glasses are a must.

Bruce Wrenn
08-14-2016, 9:34 PM
Check in local phone directory and most likely you can find a place that can rebuild your old pump. Last year I had to rebuild cylinder on my log splitter, which I built in 1986. Local hydraulic repair place had all the seals and "O" rings in stock.