PDA

View Full Version : Need help making table saw top

Nick Boehm
08-10-2016, 9:27 PM
Hey guys,

I'm new to the wood working world but I am not new to using power tools. My fathers used to have me help him a lot when I was a kid when he would make things using his shopsmith Mark IV. Long story short I biught a house and throughout the process of renovation work it has sparked my interest in fine woodworking. I currently have a craftsman 10" EVO table saw but it just doesn't cut it. The miter guide is wobbly and the fence rarely sets square. So before I go and drop a ton of money on a new saw I'd like to modify this one and get my feet wet first. Can anyone point me in the right direction to try to make my own top for it? What kind of materials should I use? Where should I buy my t-track etc. Also, I've read were people just create and overlay for their current saw top but I want to take mine off and completely build a new top. Any advice or links to how tos would be greatly appreciated.

Bruce Page
08-10-2016, 10:37 PM
Nick, you would be much better off upgrading to a better table saw than trying to turn the EVO into something that you can rely on to make fine woodworking with.

Joe Kieve
08-11-2016, 7:33 AM
I agree with Bruce. Check Craigslist in your area. You can probably buy something better than what you have for less money than it would take to modify the top on yours.

Nick Boehm
08-11-2016, 9:05 AM
Thanks for the comments but I don't see any reason to completely move away from this saw. The guts of the saw are great and it has plenty of power. The only thing I don't like for what I am currently doing is the fence and the miter gauge. I bought a new miter gauge "the incra v27" to try to remedy the situation but it doesn't fit the current track system on the saw top. hence why I want to modify the top.

Thomas Bank
08-11-2016, 9:33 AM
The problem becomes how to manufacture a more accurate tabletop with the tools that you have…