PDA

View Full Version : Electrical Question: Outlets and Surge proctectors

Clarence Martin
08-10-2016, 8:42 AM
Got the Computer and all the things that go with it, plugged into a Surge Protector. The Surge Protector is then plugged into a regular 3 prong outlet. Outlet is NOT GFCI. Do have Circuit Breakers in the Basement , not the old fuses.

Question:

would there be any added benefit, Electrical Surge wise, to change out that outlet , and replace it with a GFCI ?

John K Jordan
08-10-2016, 9:22 AM
...would there be any added benefit, Electrical Surge wise, to change out that outlet , and replace it with a GFCI ?

I'm not an electrician but my understanding is the GFCI is not for surge protection but to protect you from electrocution when you are grounded (touching something or in a wet location) and touch a hot wire. The chances of this happen at your computer is about zero. Do be sure your outlet is properly gounded. You can plug in a receptacle tester for this.

I do use surge protectors but I think what is better for protection and for other reasons when powering electronic equipment is a good uninterruptible power supply. Remember, however, that not much will stop lighting.

JKJ

Chris Padilla
08-10-2016, 1:11 PM
John has it nailed pretty good. There are surge protecting outlets you could install if you want to double-up on the protection.

Larry Frank
08-10-2016, 7:26 PM
Having a good surge is critical. A good one is not cheap but a good investment.

Even better is a UPS which will act as a surge protector and protect your computer from sudden shut downs due to power loss. I have one on my computer and another on my dsl modem and router.

Wes Thom
08-10-2016, 10:51 PM
Having a good surge is critical. A good one is not cheap but a good investment.
Little relationship exists between price and effectiveness. This thread is a perfect example. Where is one recommendation based in science or specification numbers. Every recommendation only says, "Trust me."