PDA

View Full Version : Panel Saw Recommendations for New Woodworker

Patrick Cox
08-01-2016, 2:04 PM
Hello,
I am new to woodworking and am very interested in working with hand tools. I just registered for a bench building class at my local Woodcraft where we will build what looks to be a very nice and sturdy bench. So I am now planning out my hand tool purchases. And really at this point where I am having the most trouble deciding is around Panel Saws. Really the only new Panel saws I have found (other than just going to a big box store) are at Lie Nielsen and they are $225 each (Rip and Cross Cut.) And if that is the path I should take I don't mind doing so, but I also don't want to waste money if there are other good options. Now I have seen recommendations to buy a used saw and refurbish it but I don't know anything about doing that so I am thinking my best option is to buy new or to buy one that is already refurbished. So, any suggestions on buying new Panel Saws - one Rip Saw and one Cross Cut Saw will be much appreciated!

Thanks!
Pat

steven c newman
08-01-2016, 2:16 PM
I seem to recall Disston made a few good ones, back in the day..
This one was sold by a Hardware Supplier out of Cleveland, OH. There were a lot of 20" saws made by Disston, and Atkins. Keep your eyes open, and you can get one or both types of saws for less than ....$10. None of mine came from ebay, either. All came from yard sales.

BTW: the saw pictured was cutting dovetails.....

Patrick Cox
08-01-2016, 2:52 PM
Could a saw like this easily be converted to rip?

"Removed eBay link."

Nicholas Lawrence
08-01-2016, 3:02 PM
An option might be to pick up a good Disston or Atkins, and pay to have somebody sharpen it. You want to make sure the saw plate is not bent or kinked. It can be a little hit and miss over the Internet, but if you can buy them in person (not sure where you are or what options you may have) you can make sure they do not have any major problems.