PDA

View Full Version : Podcasts

Dave Lehnert
07-31-2016, 9:27 PM
I'm new to the world of Podcasts.
What do you enjoy listening to on your MP3 player?

Prashun Patel
07-31-2016, 10:18 PM
Revisionist history
Americas test kitchen
Reply All
And the two greatest of all time: This American Life and Radio Lab.

Ken Platt
07-31-2016, 10:27 PM
I download a lot of NPR programs. This AMerican Life, Freakonomics, Planet Money, Radiolab. I also download lectures from a number of places, lately mostly Yale. They have entire courses online. http://oyc.yale.edu/. There are some there that are just fascinating - the one on the civil war and the one on astrophysics controversies are wonderful. I also find a lot of lectures on youtube, and download the audio via an app called Peggo.

I've tried the Fine woodworking shoptalk Live, but find it's a bit too chatty and slow for my taste.

I'm looking forward to other's responses - I love finding new podcasts.

Ken

Dave Lehnert
07-31-2016, 10:37 PM
Some great info so far. THANKS!

I do have one question.
I noticed a lot of Podcasts are on Itunes. Itunes is also new to me. (I use Amazon for music) is there a cost involved with Itunes?

Matt Day
07-31-2016, 10:57 PM
My favorites right now:
This American Life
Snap Judgement
Embedded
Serial
Outside
Planet Money

Podcasts are awesome. You'll find it's easy and pleasant to listen and you'll wonder why you didn't start earlier. Why listen to the radio or music on your commute? Podcast. Shop time when machines aren't running, podcast. Cooking, cleaning, podcast. Working out, podcast.

Matt Day
07-31-2016, 11:02 PM
Are you listening with a smartphone? If so Apple has a podcast app as does Android.