PDA

View Full Version : The ruler trick

Rob Luter
07-21-2016, 4:50 AM
I've been learning to sharpen for several years, and thought I was pretty good at it. I recently spent a few hours in my shop escaping the summer heat, and decided to get everything all sharpened up in anticipation of the next project. While I've always flattened and lapped the backs of my plane irons, this time I decided to employ David Charlesworth's "ruler trick" to assure the back of the iron near the cutting edge was as flat and smooth as possible. The results were nothing short of amazing. I thought I was getting sharp before, but I'm getting a whole different class of results now. My planes have never cut smoother. It was a simple change that made a big difference. Maybe I'm late to the party, but better late than never.

Robin Frierson
07-21-2016, 6:53 AM
What is the ruler trick?

Phil Mueller
07-21-2016, 7:17 AM
Robin, it's a technique David shares on his sharpening video. Downloads and DVDs are available through Lie Nielson. You essentially wet a fine stone, and "stick" a metal ruler along one long end of the stone. Place the plane iron back side down on the ruler perpendicular to the stone and run the back of the cutting edge (a few mm of it) back and forth over the opposite edge of the stone. Creating essentially a very slight up bevel to the back of the iron close to the cutting edge.

Rob Luter
07-21-2016, 8:12 AM
What is the ruler trick?

What Phil said. It takes much or the work out of flattening the iron at the cutting edge as you only are dressing the 1/4 inch or so at the edge. The amount of back bevel is all but impossible to measure. Google "The Ruler Trick" and you'll get all sorts of results, how to videos, etc.

Robert Engel
07-21-2016, 8:26 AM
Its an innovation, but keep a couple things in mind.

1. I view it as a permanent alteration to the blade.
2. Difficult to do on a cambered iron.

Mike Holbrook
07-21-2016, 9:21 AM