PDA

View Full Version : Switching Paint Brands; Firing Behr...Which Brand do You Use?

Rich Riddle
07-13-2016, 9:54 PM
So the Behr Ultra just isn't cutting it. The stuff starts drying in the pan. While painting a three foot wide hallway, I accidentally bumped into the back of the other end just painted about eight minutes earlier. It had already dried to the touch. While some may like this feature, it makes painting "wet to wet" nearly impossible. Fixing "oops" moments also becomes impossible. So which brand of paints do you folks use?

Greg R Bradley
07-13-2016, 10:14 PM
I don't know that it is the BRAND that is the problem and assume each brand has their good and bad products. I'm not a paint expert but have been completely impressed by Sherwin Williams Emerald Paint that is $62 per gallon at conrtactor price, supposedly $102 per gallon retail (?). When you consider the labor involved, was totally worth the price.

Neil Gaskin
07-13-2016, 10:19 PM
Benjamin Moore. I like: Ultra Spec for most interior walls. Advance Enamel for interior trim. We use Regal Select for exteriors and some times for interiors. Just don't use their bottom of the line.

Rich Riddle
07-13-2016, 10:37 PM
Greg, you are correct about the BRAND in many cases. But with this Behr, I went to the top of the line except for the Marquee line. I am thinking Behr paint just markets to the lower line like Yugo marketed less expensive cars. As time goes by in life, my time gets more valuable. So a more expensive paint that saves time seems just fine.

Brian W Smith
07-14-2016, 4:12 AM
S/W...and BM covers 90% plus of the higher end builds here.

I kinda like "real" paint stores.Get to talk to all the old guys(I are one) who have worked on our projects.Standing back to let the younger,caffeined up contractors all hustling in chasing money.

With a mighty few exceptions,don't buy paint at box stores,gives me the creeps just thinking about it....sheeesh.

Wayne Lomman
07-14-2016, 6:53 AM