PDA

View Full Version : Car Problem

Mike Goetzke
07-06-2016, 10:10 AM
My daughter has a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT (125,000 miles). About 8 months ago it had a ck engine light with code P0131 (low sensor voltage). I checked the sensor with my scanner and sprayed carb cleaner into the intake and it had no reaction so I replaced it. Same thing happened 4 months later and sensor was bad. Now she got the code the third time and the sensor seems to be OK. She said the car will not move when you try to accelerate. I took it for a test and indeed found if I hard accelerated (pedal to metal) it seemed to misfire/backfire and if I let off the accelerator a bit it was fine. Now on another day of testing the car would not accelerate at all even at low speeds. It even seems to idle roughly.

I have a scanner that can record live data but I'm not a mechanic so don't know what to look for. From another forum I did record O2 sensor output and STFM LTFM (short & long term fuel map). The O2 sensor seems to be doing what it should. The LTFM is reading +15 to +20% meaning it is adding lots of fuel to make power. So as suggested I started looking at fuel system related things:

- I replaced the fuel pressure regulator
- replaced the fuel filter
- checked the fuel pressure (46psi key on, 40psi idle, and when accelerated jumps to 50psi and then back to 38psi)
- also checked catalytic converter temps like I saw online and it seems to be functioning
- my scanner has a CAT check too and it passes
- I took my old timing light out and on some cylinders I could see misfire at times

- I didn't do anything with the fuel injectors but how this seems to be very intermittent at soft accelerations I shying away from a fueling issue (maybe I'm wrong)

From reading online could be:

- crank sensor
- cam sensor

I'm now thinking this could be electrical related? I had a car years ago that was misfiring and it was the ignition control module.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks,

Mike

Tom Stenzel