PDA

View Full Version : Delta 6x48 w 12 inch disc sander question

Sam Beagle
06-29-2016, 5:02 PM
So I scored a brand new. And I'm dead serious "brand new" never used 1986 delta machine. Sander. It has never had any abrasives on it. So I'm ready to rip my hair out, I cannot get a belt on it. I ordered 25 new belts via eBay. And I cannot get them on. I'm a floor sander by trade. So I use belts everyday and know how to install them. What am I missing here. Sam

Norris Randall
06-29-2016, 6:10 PM
339985 Don't know if this is any help. If your sander looks anything like my craftsman, the two nobs on each side will loosten the roller. Then the belt can be installed the other nobs will move the roller back and is used to adjust tracking of the belt. The small nobs lock roller in place.

Sam Beagle
06-29-2016, 6:39 PM
I have everything as loose as possible. The belts keep getting destroy every time I try.

Joe Jensen
06-29-2016, 6:43 PM
I have a Delta clone and the idler wheel should move as you loosen. Mine was gummed up from what I assume was dried grease. Does your idler wheel move in and out of the main assembly easily? I disassembled mine and cleaned and lubed and it works well now.

Rick Lizek
06-29-2016, 7:46 PM
Don't buy too many belts at a time. They typically have a shelf life of a year. The joint will fail.

Joe Jensen
06-29-2016, 8:33 PM
Don't buy too many belts at a time. They typically have a shelf life of a year. The joint will fail.

Boy did I learn that lesson the hard way.

Scott Dorrer
06-30-2016, 11:48 AM
I own one of those. Mine is a bit newer but I don't think it's changed significantly.

Clarification.... You get the belt on and it's destroyed when you start the machine or you are destroying the belt trying to get it in place??

If the latter, I would check the length of the belts you bought on Ebay

Matt Day
06-30-2016, 12:03 PM
As Scott said, please describe how the belts are failing. When you out then on? When you turn it on (after mounting)?