PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a jointer.

Jacob Lundmark
06-27-2016, 4:05 PM
Hello everyone,

I am in the market for a jointer. I am just beginning in my woodworking journey and I was wondering if you had any thoughts on the following.

1. I am leaning 6" for both space and cost. I will be building furniture from entertainment centers to dressers and also dabble in some cabinetry. Will 6" be sufficient?

2. I am leaning used on craigslits. There are a few Jet and one Steel City that have peaked my interest. Any thoughts/opinions on these?
-$600 http://minneapolis.craigslist.org/ram/tls/5620686737.html
-$500 http://minneapolis.craigslist.org/dak/tls/5645778793.html
-Search http://minneapolis.craigslist.org/search/sss?sort=date&query=jointer if you see anything else.
3. Is there another jointer that would produce more bang for my buck?

Thank you so much for any input.
-Jacob

Nick Nelson
06-27-2016, 4:19 PM
I would really look for an 8". Grizzly has them new priced well, but if you look long and hard you can find a older delta or powermatic near your price range.

David Kumm
06-27-2016, 4:34 PM
I'd look at the longest bed I could fit in and buy an 8" if possible. For used, seeing them in person and bringing a quality 6' level and feeler gauges will tell you how flat the tables are. That is huge in the jointer game. Wedgebed jointers can be a pain if the tables droop. Parallelogram like the Delta DJ 20 or DJ 15 are pretty decent used jointers as are the green are even yellow Powermatics from the 1970s to early 2000s. Powermatic used very good meehanite cast iron when they made machine here in the US so don't be afraid of age. Dave

Dan Friedrichs
06-27-2016, 4:44 PM
Um, there are 2 Northfield 12" jointers on your craigslist. Problem solved? :)